daily bookkeeping checklist

Many bookkeeping tasks follow weekly, monthly, or quarterly accounting cycles. However, if you’re a full-charge bookkeeper or your clients have a large number of transactions, there are several tasks you should complete each day. 

We’ve created a list of nine daily bookkeeping tasks to help ensure your clients’ books are up to date every day of the year.

9 Key Daily Bookkeeping Tasks to Include in Your Checklist

1. Make Daily Deposits

A bookkeeper’s job is to keep track of all the money that flows in and out of your clients’ accounts. This helps your clients know how much money they have to work with at any given time. Making daily deposits is a crucial part of the bookkeeping process because it ensures that all money is accounted for, preventing any confusion over where it came from or went. 

Completing this daily task allows you to build a good relationship with the bank and establish a paper trail in case any questions arise about a company’s finances. Overall, making daily deposits goes a long way toward keeping your clients’ finances in order.

2. Summarize Cash Sales

Cash sales are the backbone of any business. It’s important to summarize them accurately on a daily basis. This task ensures you’ve accounted for all income and properly tracked expenses. 

By summarizing cash sales, your clients can gauge their performance over time and identify any trends. Without accurate summaries, they would have a difficult time managing their finances and making informed decisions about their future. This essential task assists your clients in making vital financial adjustments when needed. 

3. Record Bank Transactions

Transactions that occur within a business must be carefully recorded to maintain accurate financial reports and records. Recording financial transactions daily helps you maintain an up-to-date record of your clients’ accounts. It allows you to identify and correct any errors or discrepancies in a timely manner. 

Additionally, recording transactions assists in preventing fraud and theft by providing a clear audit trail. Ultimately, this daily task ensures the accuracy and integrity of your clients’ financial records.

4. Categorize Transactions

Every transaction must be properly documented and classified. You need to confirm all entries get recorded in the correct categories. Completing this daily task lets you quickly identify and correct any errors and prevent problems down the line due to a misplaced entry. 

5. Record Accounts Payable Invoices

Any bookkeeper knows one of their key responsibilities is recording accounts payable invoices daily. This task is important for a few reasons. 

First, it enables you to verify all invoices are accounted for and paid promptly. Second, it prevents late fees and other penalties from accruing. Finally, it provides a clear record of spending that can be helpful in budgeting and financial planning. 

6. Review Accounts Receivable

Keeping a close eye on accounts receivable is crucial. Reviewing these items, such as unpaid invoices, on a daily basis allows you to keep track of who owes you money and how much. 

This information is essential for managing your cash flow and ensuring that your business is running smoothly. By proactively reviewing accounts receivable regularly, you can quickly identify discrepancies or issues that need to be addressed. You can manage your finances more effectively and avoid problems arising down the road.

7. Update Payroll Records

Maintaining accurate payroll records for your clients is essential. However, it can be a challenge to keep up with the paperwork on a daily basis. 

Fortunately, there are a few simple ways to stay on top of your payroll duties. First, keep detailed records of the hours each employee works. Doing this ensures everyone is being paid correctly. 

Additionally, be sure to update your records regularly so you can catch any errors. Lastly, keep a copy of each employee’s most recent pay stubs on hand so you can reference them if any questions arise.

By following these simple tips, your clients’ payroll records will always be accurate and up to date.

8. Check Upcoming Deadlines

Maintaining financial records requires a high degree of accuracy and attention to detail. 

One of the most important items on your checklist is staying on top of deadlines. Each month, there are a number of deadlines you need to meet to keep your clients’ books in order. These can include filing payroll taxes, sending invoices, and reconciling credit card accounts. 

Missing just one deadline can create a ripple effect,throwing off your entire system. That’s why you must be aware of upcoming deadlines and plan accordingly to keep your clients’ finances in order. 

9. Review Your Clients’ Cash Position

Tracking your clients’ cash position means knowing how much money their company has on hand at any given time and making sure expenses get paid on time. 

Reviewing the cash position regularly helps prevent any future financial issues. For example, if you know your client only has a certain amount of cash on hand, you can be more careful about how it is spent. 

Keeping tabs on your clients’ cash position ensures bills are paid, vendors are happy, and your clients can relax knowing their financial affairs are running smoothly.

Free Templates: Weekly and Monthly Bookkeeping Checklists

If you’re looking beyond your daily workflow and need some weekly and monthly bookkeeping checklists, Jetpack Workflow has 32 free templates for bookkeeping and accounting firms so you and your team never let any task slip through the cracks.

Best Methods for Tracking Your Daily Bookkeeping Checklist

You have a few options when it comes to keeping tabs on your daily bookkeeping checklist.

1. Pen and Paper

Pros

  • Classic, no-cost choice
  • Easy to create
  • Travels with you

Cons

  • Easily misplaced or lost
  • Hard to share with a team
  • Difficult to edit or reprioritize

2. Google Document or Spreadsheet

Pros

  • Free
  • Shareable with others

Cons

  • No access to reminders
  • Not built with bookkeepers in mind
  • Requires creating templates
  • Doesn’t sync with other software

3. Jetpack Workflow

Jetpack Workflow Dashboard

Pros

  • Designed for bookkeepers
  • Premade, predefined templates
  • Offers reminders
  • Easy to share
  • Robust reporting
  • Responsive customer service
  • Works with other software

Cons

  • Not free, but very affordable

Interested in finding out how Jetpack Workflow can improve your firm’s productivity? Learn more here.

See Jetpack Worflow In Action

Get under the hood of Jetpack Workflow’s accounting workflow and project management platform. See some of the top features and how it helps your firm standardize, automate, and track client work more efficiently.

PITTSBURGH (PRWEB) NOVEMBER 16, 2022

Jetpack Workflow proudly announces that Founder and CEO, David Cristello, has been named a CPA Practice Advisor 20 Under 40 Top Influencer. Jetpack Workflow is a cloud-based workflow management tool that helps accounting firms manage deadlines without tasks falling through the cracks, allowing firms to increase profitability and scalability.

The CPA Practice Advisor awards recognize 40 professionals who are under 40, and have emerged as future leaders in the profession, and 20 who are leading the development of technology, education or services that enhance the profession. The awards spotlight the top practicing public accountants, educators and thought leaders who are leading their profession by visibly and incrementally changing the accounting profession through their exemplary leadership, their innovative thinking, their collaborative efforts, and their community outreach which extends the visibility of the profession outside the workplace.

The Top Influencers program honors those who are leading the way in developing the constantly evolving technology and firm processes that allow practitioners to be more productive, efficient and profitable, as they build practices that will endure and thrive.

“I am honored to be recognized among the industry’s most prestigious leaders,” explained David Cristello, Jetpack Workflow Founder and CEO. “We pride ourselves in developing innovative technology solutions that help our customers get recurring client work done on time, every time.”

About Jetpack Workflow

Jetpack Workflow was founded in 2015 with the vision to help customers deliver their best work—from developing the actual software that helps professionals solve their painful workflow problems, to personalized and fun onboarding and training, to curating helpful and informative resources. Jetpack Workflow serves over 6,000 accounting professionals in 18 countries around the world and features automated recurring deadlines, drag and drop capacity planning, along with the ability to see what needs to be completed with only a few clicks. To learn more about Jetpack Workflow, follow us on LinkedIn and Twitter and http://www.jetpackworkflow.com.

See Jetpack Worflow In Action

Get under the hood of Jetpack Workflow’s accounting workflow and project management platform. See some of the top features and how it helps your firm standardize, automate, and track client work more efficiently.

With new technologies and processes transforming accounting, some people have predicted that compliance has reached its end. But while the accounting industry is changing, accounting compliance—ensuring a business’s financial reporting is accurate and in line with laws and regulations—is not going away anytime soon.

As technology becomes more present in firms and businesses, some leaders are fearful that automation and other technological systems are destroying traditional accounting practices. 

This anti-tech mindset is nonsense. Learning more about the role compliance plays for your firm can help business owners and leaders gain greater insights into their practices and the direction of their businesses.

Compliance In the Present And Future

Accounting firms will always have to do compliance work, which is helpful for:

• Accurate financial reporting

• Correctly following laws and regulations

• Maintaining your firm’s good reputation

• Defining your business: Why are you running this business? How are you leading your firm?

• Reducing errors

• Creating consistency

• Pushing firms to keep standards high

If you feel like there’s any part of your firm that can live (or thrive) without compliance work, it’s important to think again.

When you complete compliance work on time, you can use this information as a springboard to enable you to make future decisions for your business. Tax returns and profit and loss statements (PNLs) can help you understand where your business has been and how it’s progressing. Viewing your progress helps you identify when you’re going to eventually hit a critical point. 

As you move forward with compliance work, keep this in mind: Leading with compliance is a dying art form. Compliance is important to your service mix, but it is not important to your value proposition; You still need to offer the services, but they shouldn’t define your brand.

Compliance And Your Clients

Although compliance assessments might make clients nervous, most genuinely want to know if they are running their businesses according to the right standards. These clients generally end up being your best clients because they care about their businesses, want to know if they’re doing something right or wrong, are open to constructive criticism, and are striving to be better business owners. Working with them can even indirectly help you practice and fine-tune your skills in compliance work.

Compliance is a great way to attract clients. Companies might first approach you seeking help for compliance needs, but working together gives you a chance to get to know each other better and provides the opportunity for interesting conversations that can lead to more in-depth work, resulting in you being seen and trusted as an advisor.

Many firm leaders feel like compliance is a bloody, low-margin battle. They don’t want to compete on price, so they might offer it at cost, or even at a loss, in order to attract new clients since it doesn’t require marketing or networking.

It’s a common mindset. But consider that the acquisition of your firm may be based on how competitive you are regarding compliance.

You can be thoughtful about compliance as a way to attract a broad lead base, but you can also do the opposite and seek to attract your dream clients by charging compliance servicesat a premium because of the niche knowledge and capabilities they require. This could lead to eventually upgrading packages for your existing clients, as well. If potential clients have reason to desire your compliance services, they will pay greater amounts to acquire them.

Doing More for Your Clients

We all want to do more for our best clients. So, take a moment to think more holistically about your services. How do you charge your clients? How do you offer the services in question?

This should give you some insight on whether it’s better to offer a premium offering with a fixed fee that you can do monthly or whether you should use compliance as a loss leader on the front end to attract a large client base. 

From there, you can selectively curate and pull up upgrade packages for your ideal client at an acquisition cost. Because this strategy brings in new clients and doesn’t require spending ten grand a month on ads, you can afford to have attractive, initial-offer margins on the compliance end. Don’t believe the hype: Compliance isn’t dead. But compliance as a value proposition is a disappearing art form. Used strategically, it can be a springboard for bigger and better client relationships.

See Jetpack Worflow In Action

Get under the hood of Jetpack Workflow’s accounting workflow and project management platform. See some of the top features and how it helps your firm standardize, automate, and track client work more efficiently.
year end bookkeeping checklist

Year-end is one of the most stressful times for bookkeeping firms. 

You’ve got clients dropping off paperwork and tax preparers demanding financials. Plus, there’s the additional pressure of preparing 1099s and W-2s. There is no shortage of demands on your time.

To avoid overlooking anything, you need to stay focused and organized. Your firm should have a standardized checklist to ensure you prepare all the necessary forms for your clients and hit every deadline. 

Having a well-documented checklist will increase your team’s efficiency and client satisfaction. We’ve outlined 8 key year-end steps to complete for each of your clients.

8 Essential Monthly Bookkeeping Tasks to Include in Your Year-End Checklist

If you are creating your first year-end checklist, you can use the one we put together below. If you already have your own checklist, you can review ours for items you may have missed.

1. Review and Reconcile Payroll Records

If your clients have more than a handful of employees (and even if they have just a few), those employees will be asking for their W-2s sooner than later. Though the deadline for getting W-2s to employees is January 31, you’ll save yourself (and your clients) a lot of headaches by getting them out as soon as possible after the new year.

Before sending out W-2s, you should reconcile payroll for the year to confirm your clients’ records match their quarterly tax filings. If any of your clients use a separate payroll account, you should also reconcile that account before preparing W-2s. 

If there are any stale payroll checks, your clients should contact those employees and reissue them. If the checks are more than a couple of years old, most states require those checks be remitted to the state’s unclaimed property department. 

Finally, check that all payroll taxes have been properly submitted to the IRS and your state’s taxing authority for the year. 

Once you have verified that payroll is correct and properly recorded, get those W-2s in the mail or deliver them electronically.

2. Prepare 1099s

Bookkeepers know 1099s are an essential part of tax season.

Form 1099 is a tax document used to report income not subject to withholding. Examples include income from interest, dividends, and certain types of self-employment income. Businesses are required to file 1099s for any individuals and most entities who were paid $600 or more during the year.

There are several types of 1099 forms, and each reports a different kind of income. The most common 1099 is the 1099-MISC, which reports miscellaneous income such as royalties, rents, and prizes. Other types of 1099 forms include the 1099-INT (for interest income), the 1099-DIV (for dividend income), and the 1099-G (for certain government payments).

Like W-2s, the deadline for sending 1099s to your vendors and contractors is January 31. If you fail to file a required 1099, you may be subject to penalties from the IRS.

To file 1099s on time, you’ll need to reconcile your clients’ bank accounts for the year to ensure all payments are included when you issue the forms. If you’ve been keeping up your clients’ books throughout the year, you should be ready to get those 1099s out promptly.

Remember, if you file W-2s or 1099s on paper forms, you should have the proper paper required by the IRS.

3. Complete an Inventory Inspection

Since bookkeepers are always involved in year-end physical inventory accounting, you will want to confirm your clients are reviewing their inventory.

A company’s inventory account is one of the most critical accounts on its balance sheet. Inventory represents the raw materials, work-in-progress, and finished goods a company has on hand and is one of the biggest assets a company can have. 

A year-end inventory count is necessary for several reasons. First, it ensures the inventory balance on the balance sheet is accurate. Second, it allows the company to adjust its inventory levels based on changes in demand. Third, it provides useful information for negotiating better terms with suppliers. Finally, it can help prevent fraud and theft. 

Ultimately, a year-end inventory count is a vital part of maintaining accurate financial statements and ensuring the health of a business. As a bookkeeper, it’s your job to make sure the year-end inventory adjustments have been properly recorded and that the cost of goods sold has been adjusted.

4. Review Backup Documentation

Keeping accurate records is key in accounting, whether you are a small business owner or a large corporation. 

Without accurate records, it’s difficult to track inventory, sales, expenses, and profits. That’s why backup documentation matters. When completing your year-end bookkeeping review, this is the perfect time to review your documentation for the year and check that everything is in order.

This includes keeping track of invoices, receipts, and other documentation. In a paperless environment, it means keeping digital copies of all statements, invoices, and deposit records.

5. Review Accounts Payable and Receivable

Your year-end checklist needs to include a review of accounts payable and receivable for a few reasons. 

This review is an opportunity to check that all invoices were paid and all payments were received. It’s especially important if there were any changes in staff or accounting software during the year. 

It helps you identify any areas where late payments were made or logged incorrectly. This information is useful for improving cash flow management in the future. 

Lastly, this review lets you reconcile any discrepancies between the accounts payable and receivable records. It keeps your records accurate and up-to-date, which is essential for maintaining good financial management practices.

6. Record Annual Journal Entries

At the end of the year, businesses need to record a few journal entries. You’ll need to carefully review your clients’ books to verify the appropriate entries got recorded.

The first entry records any revenue not previously added to the ledger. It could be for services provided but not yet invoiced or money collected but not yet recorded. 

Businesses also need to account for expenses incurred but not yet paid. This includes items like utilities, rent, and payroll. 

Additionally, businesses need to adjust their inventory levels to reflect the actual physical count of what they have on hand. Doing this ensures their financial statements accurately document the reality of what the business owns. 

7. Review Financial Statements

The end of the year is always a busy time for businesses, and you’ll need to review your clients’ financial statements from the past 12 months. 

This review can be helpful in identifying trends and making decisions about the future. It can also pinpoint any errors or discrepancies in the statements. 

Reviewing financial statements also allows you to update them with changes that occurred during the year. This may include new purchases, sales, or investments. 

Taking the time to review financial statements at the end of each year ensures your clients’ records remain accurate.

8. Review Your Plan for Next Year

One of the most important things you can do to give yourself an advantage in the new year is to plan your accounting tasks in advance. 

By mapping out what needs to be done and when, you avoid needless stress and save yourself valuable time. 

In short, a little bit of planning goes a long way toward guaranteeing a successful accounting year. So set aside some time at the end of this year to plan for the next one. Your future self will thank you!

Free Templates – Weekly & Monthly Bookkeeping Checklists

To give you a headstart on next year’s bookkeeping checklists, Jetpack Workflow created 32 free templates for bookkeeping and accounting firms so you can kick off the new year on the right foot.

Best Methods for Tracking Your Bookkeeping Checklists

There are several options when it comes to keeping track of the tasks on your various checklists.

1. Pen and Paper

Pros

  • No cost to create
  • Portable

Cons

  • Hard to edit
  • Easy to lose
  • Difficult to share with a team

2. Google Doc or Spreadsheet

Pros

  • Free to get started
  • Easy to share with your team

Cons

  • No reminders 
  • Not built with bookkeepers in mind
  • No premade templates
  • Doesn’t integrate with other software

3. Jetpack Workflow

Jetpack Workflow Dashboard

Pros

  • Dedicated bookkeeping software
  • Multiple useful templates
  • Regular reminders
  • Easy to use with your team
  • Detailed reporting
  • Responsive customer service
  • Multiple bookkeeping features for small and medium sized businesses
  • Unlimited integrations for a seamless transition

Cons

  • Not free, but very reasonably priced

Interested in finding out how Jetpack Workflow can improve your firm’s productivity? Learn more here.

See Jetpack Worflow In Action

Get under the hood of Jetpack Workflow’s accounting workflow and project management platform. See some of the top features and how it helps your firm standardize, automate, and track client work more efficiently.

 

In this Growing Your Firm Podcast, CEO and Founder of Jetpack Workflow David Cristello interviews Geraldine Carter. Geraldine has been on the show before and came back to talk about her experiences with business coaching and provide examples of what plagues CPAs/accountants. Many elements of life hold back firm owners—money, sense of value, where to go next, etc. Clients and the mental mind are two perfect examples of what holds back CPAs/accountants. If you don’t listen to your clients and find your interests through their struggles, you might never find your niche. It’s also easy to become your own worst critic. Geraldine explains both of these examples more below.

Meet Geraldine Carter

Geraldine Carter is a business coach who aims to help CPAs get the life and business they want. She runs her own website and is the host of the Business Strategies for CPAs podcast. She has a Bachelor of Science in Engineering from Cornell University. Besides business coaching and working with accountants, Geraldine enjoys mountain biking, trails, and raising her family. 

Through her experiences with coaching CPAs, Geraldine has a lot of information to help you move forward with your practices and your firm. 

Listen to Your Clients

At the beginning of the interview, David and Geraldine discussed Balance Bikes. The purpose behind Balance Bikes is to help ease parents’ fears when it comes to teaching children how to ride bicycles. Other bicycle products created anxiety in parents because they didn’t have the precautions that would keep their children safe in case of an accident or injury. 

Companies took note of this strong sense of parental safety and, instead of trying to come up with their own solution, they interviewed their buyers. Bicycle companies asked consumers, “What kind of bike would you like to buy? What type of bicycle should we make that will make you feel more comfortable buying it?” From there, the Balance Bike was born based on answers and surveyed information from buyers.

Geraldine related this scenario back to bookkeeping and accounting firms. For a long time, firms have been doing things the “old-fashioned way.” Yet, there is much room for firms to grow in new and fresh ways. 

Geraldine encourages firms to interview their clients and ask questions like:

    • What do you need from us?

    • What are you looking for?

    • What outcome are you expecting?

If you can find what your clients are looking for, you can start over and design the solution they want based on their feedback. For example, the Balance Bike is still a bicycle. However, the Balance Bike is making new outcomes that consumers enjoy. To achieve this level of reaching new solutions, you need to take different approaches to solve problems. What is your version of the bicycle you need to fix? The bicycle’s wheels are too slippery, it constantly falls over, it’s rusting. What problems do you see in your services that you can change?

Clients and businesses are going to continue to grow. If you grow with them, your clients will stick with you and trust your practices. Interviewing your clients will:

    • Figure out what you can do to help

    • Ultimately, make your business practices an easier process

You don’t want to ask your clients what services they need because they don’t know! You need to help ground them and figure out what service(s) they need to solve their problems.

For example, you’re just starting off and taking on business. You take all kinds of clients—it doesn’t matter what kind of problems they have. Take this opportunity to learn from your clients. By helping them and understanding what they need, you can find what industries you like the most. Is it inventory? Service-based? E-Commerce? As you find your interests in your clients’ requests and get a sense of what you enjoy more, you can start heading in that specific direction.

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The Fear of Being Different; The Fear of Being Better

Once you get into your niche, you won’t be generating so many customer reports for your clients. Eventually, you’ll ground yourself and find the clients you really want to help. That being said, Geraldine says that you don’t have to write a full report for your clients. Your clients aren’t looking for a long, technical report that they don’t fully understand. They’re looking for money and value. They want information that will help them sleep better at night—a brief email, video, or bullet-point list of details can do the trick.

When asked her opinion on what’s stopping people from writing a bullet-point list in an email, Geraldine answered that accountants have two fears: the fear of being different, and the fear of being better

The fear of being different stems from a feeling of isolation. You’re doing something that no one else is doing. You’re alone in your process and your thoughts. If no one else is doing what you’re doing, is it bad? Should you stop? These questions are the thoughts that invade our minds when we try something different. It’s normal to have these thoughts—trying new things is a common, scary phenomenon. Pushing through these thoughts and accomplishing what you want, though, is the most challenging part of it all.

The fear of being better consists of finding success and sadness at the same time. What if this new thing you’re trying out works? What if you’re successful? If it is successful, why have you not done it earlier? Why were you holding yourself back for so long? That anxiety of feeling like you’ve not been doing the right thing the whole time creates this fear of being better. 

Another valid reason for this fear is what you think people may think of you. For example, accountants in smaller towns might feel that their community is judging them all the time. Since the community is smaller, people know each other better and have a bigger capacity for caring for one another. If you decide to disengage some clients from your firm, what will your community think? Will they be mad? All you’re doing is branching out—should you really let what others think of you?
In reality, only maybe one, two or three people will have negative thoughts about your practices. Most people will see your methods as “trying to branch out” and move on. You can’t self-sabotage yourself forever—you need to make that next step. Don’t optimize your life to three clients who would be mad. Grow the way you want to grow. Make the decisions you want to make that will help you flourish in your industry, and don’t let your anxieties get to you. In the end, you will make the decisions that will help you achieve something wonderful for your practice.

See Jetpack Worflow In Action

Get under the hood of Jetpack Workflow’s accounting workflow and project management platform. See some of the top features and how it helps your firm standardize, automate, and track client work more efficiently.
accounting client retention

When starting your accounting practice, you’ll likely spend a lot of time on marketing and finding clients. As your business grows, you may have less time for these activities. 

No matter how good your services are, if you don’t have a process in place to retain your accounting clients, you’ll eventually lose them. Here are 9 tips to help you build client loyalty and maintain these important long-term relationships.

1. Calculate Your Clients’ Lifetime Value

When evaluating your client retention strategies, consider the lifetime value of your current client base. Take the annual billing for each client and multiply it by the average number of years you typically provide service to them. For example, if you charge a client $2,500 per year and work with your clients for an average of 20 years, the lifetime value of that client is $50,000. 

While every client is important and deserves excellent customer service, high-value clients may expect a greater degree of care. Once you’ve considered the lifetime value of your clients, it will be easier to direct your efforts toward your highest-value clients. 

2. Make Retention Your Priority

Accounting firms rely on clients for both their income and their reputation. Therefore, it’s essential that you take care of your existing clients. You can spend lots of time and energy trying to drum up new business. When you consider the cost of those efforts, you’re much better off making sure your current clients are satisfied rather than looking for new ones. 

If you’ve assessed the lifetime value of your clients, you’ve already identified your most valuable clients and can prioritize services for them. This means providing them with the highest level of service possible and maintaining open lines of communication. 

You’ll also want to be proactive in identifying any potential problems and offering solutions. By taking care of your existing clients, you can ensure the long-term success of your firm.

3. Find Clients That Fit Your Business

Focus on finding the clients that fit you best. Who are the ideal clients for your business? That depends on what your strengths and areas of expertise are. Figure out who you love to work with, and ask yourself why. 

This may sound like a daunting task, but there are ways to ensure you’ve got the right clients for your firm. A great place to start is by looking for any areas of improvement within your current client base. If you find that you’re constantly adjusting your services to meet the needs of your existing clients, it may be time to look for new ones. 

Another option for finding clients that fit you is to ask for referrals from your best clients. If they’ve had a positive experience working with you, they’ll likely be more than happy to share your information with other businesses in their industry.

Finally, you can use online resources to search for potential clients. There are a number of websites that allow businesses to post their information and services, making it easy for interested parties to find them. 

By taking the time to locate your ideal clients, you can increase your chances of success while also delivering the best possible service.

4. Be Outstanding

At the end of the day, what separates a good accounting firm from a great one is the level of customer service it provides to its clients. Whether it’s going above and beyond to answer questions or taking the time to explain complex financial concepts, outstanding service is key to building a loyal client base. 

Identify the competitive advantage your firm offers. This might include customized services such as pick up and drop off for local clients or expertise in a certain area such as the research and development tax credit. Once you’ve identified your specialty, figure out which clients will most benefit from your services and market directly to them.

Of course, providing great service is easier said than done. Constant attention and dedication are required to meet the needs of your clients, even when it’s inconvenient. However, the payoff is worth it. When clients feel valued and well-served, they’re much more likely to stick with you, even during tough economic times.

5. Be Accountable

Being accountable to your clients means offering accurate and reliable services that meet and exceed their needs and expectations. It’s providing them with a dedicated point person and following through on your promises. 

To be accountable, you must establish clear lines of communication so that your clients understand what services will be provided and when. Your firm should set realistic expectations for turnaround times and keep clients updated on the status of their projects. You need to adhere to all due dates and clearly communicate any changes to your schedule well in advance. 

Measure your success by how well you meet your goals and deliver quality work in a timely manner. Through accountability, you build trust, a sense of consistency, and relationships that last.

6. Be Empathetic

Celebrate their new baby. Offer sincere condolences when a parent dies. Help them understand that there aren’t many true accounting or tax emergencies. 

Jackie Meyer, Business Coach for Accountants

You need to genuinely care about your clients and the events taking place in their lives. Whether sending a birthday card or following up after an appointment to see if they have questions, these personal touches go a long way toward cultivating client satisfaction.   

Keep in mind that most clients find managing taxes and finances to be overwhelming. Clients often panic if they receive a notice from the IRS. As an accounting professional, you may know that most notices are nothing to worry about and easily resolved, but your clients may not understand that. They’re counting on you to be their trusted advisor whenever they’re concerned.

7. Be Engaging

Every client is unique, and each one requires a different approach. That’s why it’s important to be engaging when providing service to your clients. It can be the difference between having a satisfied client who continues to use your firm’s services for years to come or a disgruntled one who takes their business elsewhere. 

The key to being engaging is listening to and understanding your clients’ needs. Only then can you provide the level of service they’re looking for, whether that means going the extra mile or simply providing a higher level of personal attention. Making that effort is essential to keeping your clients content.

8. Be Revolutionary

Providing exemplary accounting services means you’re always on the lookout for new and innovative ways to improve the client experience. Whether it’s tax preparation, bookkeeping, or financial consulting, when you expand on ways to serve your clients, you demonstrate your desire to help them succeed. 

9. Be Organized

When it comes to keeping clients happy, meeting deadlines is crucial. You should have standardized workflows to ensure that no steps are overlooked and no due dates are missed. You can use a written to-do list or create an online spreadsheet, but the simplest solution is to implement an automated task management system as your team grows.

That’s where Jetpack Workflow can help. Jetpack Workflow is a workflow management system trusted by over 6,000 accountants and bookkeepers. The software comes preloaded with over 50 templates that cover the most common accounting tasks, helping you track your team’s tasks, monitor deadlines, and manage hours. 

With an efficient workflow system in place, you’ll know exactly where you are every step of the way. Even better, you’ll give your clients a great reason to stick around, knowing their financials are in good hands.

See Jetpack Worflow In Action

Get under the hood of Jetpack Workflow’s accounting workflow and project management platform. See some of the top features and how it helps your firm standardize, automate, and track client work more efficiently.